CECS 5580.080 Blog March 27

How have your career goals changed since you started your Master’s Degree Program?  Or, if they haven’t changed, how have you further refined them?

I feel my career goals are constantly changing. Over the course of the last two years I have wanted to be a HR Rep in Training and Development, an Academic Instructor at any University, and a Web Designer. (But not freelance, because I don’t want to be an entrepreneur.) My ultimate goal is the same.  I want to get a high paying job after I graduate. I’m going to have to start paying  back by student loans soon. Not all the doors are open for me yet so I don’t know which one I will choose.

If I pursue a position in Training and Development I would get to use some of the specific skills I developed in my instructional design courses.  I am already comfortable presenting because of my years of conducting bi-weekly orientation for new hires when I worked in HR.  I am sure I would be successful performing many of the responsibilities of a Training and Development position.  According to resources.workable.com some of the job duties would be:

  • Identify and assess future and current training needs through job analysis, career paths, annual performance appraisals and consultation with line managers
  • Draw an overall or individualized training and development plan that addresses needs and expectations
  • Deploy a wide variety of training methods
  • Conduct effective induction and orientation sessions
  • Monitor and evaluate training program’s effectiveness, success and ROI periodically and report on them
  • Provide opportunities for ongoing development
  • Resolve any specific problems and tailor programs as necessary
  • Maintain a keen understanding of training trends, developments and best practices.

I have reservations about to pursuing a position as an Instructor, the starting salary. Without experience or a Ph.D. I could only qualify for an Adjunct or Lecturer position at this point.  It seems to me this option is similar to an entry-level job and wouldn’t pay well.  Although, I do have the required skills of excellent communication and interpersonal skills, strong organizational skills, the ability to multitask and the ability to engage large groups of people.  I believe my courses have prepared me for the responsibilities of an Adjunct position.  According to greatsampleresume.com some of the job duties would be:

  • Creates, distributes, and reviews the course syllabus
  •  Use a variety of instructional strategies in order to engage students, including cooperative and experiential learning
  •  Meets with academic department chair to develop courseware and curriculum
  •  Presents prepared materials and supervises organized activities
  •  Evaluates student performance promptly and accurately based on departmental rubrics
  •  Maintains records of student attendance, involvement, and progress
  • Teaches assigned class material in accordance with learning objectives that are developed by the department
  •  Communicates with students outside of class to provide supplementary instruction, when necessary.

Of al the courses I took for my Master’s degree in Learning Technologies, I had the most fun with Web Design.  Learning and creating with Adobe DreamWeaver was both challenging and yet very satisfying.  I also enjoyed working with PhotoShop, Illustrator, and Audition.  However, I think it would be even harder for me to obtain a Web Developer position that wasn’t entry level.  I lack the required number of years of professional working experience in this field.  Perhaps I can find a position that has this task as part of the job while I’m doing other duties as well so I can develop my skills and increase my years of experience.  If I pursue a position as a Web Developer I would get to use some of the knowledge gained while taking my master’s courses.  According to study.com some of the job duties would be:

  • Writing and editing content
  • Designing webpage layout
  • Determining technical requirements
  • Updating websites
  • Creating back up files
  • Solving code problems

In addition to the positions I’m investigating, I might have created an opportunity to be a Business Processes Trainer.  At my current job in the Department of Mathematics at the University of North Texas there has been a recent change with the chart of accounts.  I have attended many training sessions for this change.  One training I attended was given by the new Director of Business Process Training and I was very impressed with her.  She mentioned in her introduction that she was developing this new division and she would be looking for others to work with her.  Now I became very intrigued!  After class I walked up to her, shook her hand and gave her my elevator speech.  I believe she was also interested in me at that point because she gave me her email address and told me to contact her.  She also shared that she would have to develop a new position for me, but that position wouldn’t be available until later, after she developed her budget and got it approved.  I got back to my office and sent her the email.  She responded the same day and thanked me for letting her know I was interested in working with her.  This could be a great opportunity for me further develop my trainer skills and help other people learn new Business Processes while maintaining my employment at UNT.  Maybe I will wait and see what develops over the summer.

References

https://resources.workable.com/training-manager-job-description

Adjunct Professor Job Description

http://study.com/articles/Web_Designer_Job_Description_Duties_and_Requirements.html

Leave a Reply

