CECS 5510 – Week 7 Activity 3

You have completed a rough version of ½ of your full course now. Have you had to make revisions to your design based on the structure of the LMS? How well is the design model working for you?

Soon I will have completed entering details on about half of my Canvas course, Recruiting and Interviewing. I have many place holders and still need to create content. It is going well. I did think I was ahead of schedule, but today I’m feeling behind schedule. A lot of time goes into creating content. Originally, I had much of the material saved on a jump drive so I was going to copy/paste lesson information. But the jump drive has died and I’m having to re-create the wheel. At least I know what I want each lesson to say. It is just taking a bit longer to find the lesson information on the web again and put it in a format I want to use.

I haven’t made any revisions on my original design based on the structure of the LMS. Canvas has accomplished everything I’ve wanted to do so far. There are some changes I’m making along the way because of input from peer reviews. For example, I’m now adding a ‘collaboration’ section for the group projects and I’m going to go back and find images/pictures to add to some of the pages so the course appears more exciting. Based on advice from on peer, and following the example of my professor’s communication in CECS 5510, I’m going to try and modify some words to help make the course sound friendly. Helping the students understand that there is a real person behind the lessons will make them more comfortable and give them a sense of personal touch. No one likes to interact with a nameless, faceless, droid.

Earlier this semester I wrote about the Backward Design Model. I don’t believe I am following this method of designing instruction for this project. Actually, I’m not aware of which design model I am following. My thinking during this process has been “I want students to learn X. To confirm they know X I will ask them to post in Discussion Boards.” My plan has been to read the students comments and determine if they are on the right track or provide guidance if it seems they do not understand the material. Perhaps that is one of the more traditional design models like ADDIE, but without the A because I did not actually analyze what needed to be taught, I just stated that learners need to know how to recruit and interview. Ah the freedom that the powers of assumption provides.

My plan for next week is to finish entering the missing content on the various assignments, discussions, and collaborations. Then I need to attack the quizzes. I’m really not sure how that part is going to go yet. Many semesters ago I had a great professor that knew how to write online quizzes in such a way that classmates couldn’t get together and cheat. There would be a pool of 20 questions and when you logged in to the quiz 10 of them would be randomly assigned for you to answer. And his questions may have been multiple choice or matching, but it wasn’t stuff you could find quickly in the textbook – you had to have already read the material. I hope to use his methods as inspiration for the quizzes I create for this course. But at the same time, I really want the quizzes to be easy. I just want the students to know the material they are being quizzed on is important. Time will tell if I convey my message successfully or not.

Leave a Reply

