CECS 5510 – Week 6 Activity 3

You have begun putting together your full course. What has gone well? What has challenged you? What feedback have you received? What feedback have you given? What have you learned from the process of developing instruction in an LMS?

Last week I started creating my course in Canvas. So far it is going very well. On the Home page I’ve entered TAP, Format, and Learning Theory. I’ve created pages for Goals and Objectives, Grading Policy, and one page where I will enter links to reading material and videos. In the Modules section I’ve entered activities for all 16 weeks of the course. I’ve entered places for students to submit their Assignments, Discussions, and Quizzes. My next step is to create the reading materials, videos, assignments and discussions.

Currently I’m working in Adobe Dreamweaver to create the online course evaluation. When complete this is the Extra Credit Assignment due at the end of the 16-week course. Although the evaluation looks good, I’m having difficulty with programming the ‘submit’ button. I believe I need to re-learn some CSS to get the evaluation to submit responses to my email.

(At the time of this writing I have not yet received any feedback or given any feedback. I will edit this post after these steps are complete.)

The process of developing instruction in Canvas LMS hasn’t been difficult. I spend more time on the content than on placing the content in the online course. I don’t feel Canvas is intuitive. I needed to watch the introduction videos to learn where or how to enter or change anything. I’m also not unsure if what I want my students to see is what I’m creating. I’ve used the ‘view as student’ feature, but there isn’t enough content for me to assess whether or not I’m heading in the right direction. Time will tell. I just hope I don’t get too far into creating this course before I realize significant changes are needed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

