CECS 5210 Blog Reflection: Analysis and Design

 

Part 1: What have you learned from the analysis? What are you planning to do with it? Do a little brainstorming about what activities tied to your learning objectives that you might include in the design of your lesson.

It is unfortunate, but I have to report that I’m not sure I learned anything from the analysis and I’m really not sure what to do with it. I’m actually concerned, and quite frustrated, that I can’t get my head wrapped around this concept. In order to answer these blog questions accurately, I did some further research about Learning Needs Assessments and found the following analogy:Learning Needs Assessments (LNA) or Training Needs Assessments (TNA) share several similarities with the labyrinth. Just as a labyrinth has a path to follow, the LNA has a “gap” that must be found and bridged. This gap is what is between what is currently in place and what is needed, both now and in the future. While some labyrinths have one path that must strictly be followed, others have a multitude of ways to reach the end or exit.” (http://www.nwlink.com/~donclark/hrd/isd/assessment.html).  Okay, so now I understand the assessment is there to bridge the gap. But I feel I am way past that gap already. Maybe I’m moving too quickly (which seems unlikely considering how far behind I am on my projects this semester). For my first project in particular, training doesn’t exist and I get to create it. I have been given a template for the training and I need to plug in the information. Taking the time to write an analysis seemed like a waste of time. If I didn’t know what training needed to be developed, or how the training should be structured, then I think I would place more value to the analysis step. But in this case, I don’t.

Then I get really stumped when trying to answer ‘What activities tied to my learning objectives might be included in the design of my lesson.’ Again, maybe I’m over thinking this. It was hard enough for me to put my learning objectives in to words, but trying to say how they are going to be a part of the lesson design doesn’t make sense to me. My lesson design is written step-by-step instructions in a standardized format that is often used by the “Client” to establish procedures or protocol. Maybe I’m just having a problem with choice of words. Instead of ‘what are you planning to do with your analysis’ I should answer ‘what information needs to be presented in the lesson?’ Instead of ‘what activities in the learning objectives might be included in the lesson design’ I should answer ‘what do learners need to learn?’ No, I doubt that is correct either because those questions ask the same thing. More and more it is looking like my mind understands the end product but doesn’t know how to explain the steps to get to the end product.

Part 2: How are analysis and design related for you? Think about it in the context the articles and chapters we have read thus far. How closely should these two pieces of the model connect? How does the Information R/Evolution video affect each of these?

Not knowing how to answer the second part of this blog post I searched Google for “how are instructional analysis and design related” and found this quote from Allison Rossett & Kendra Sheldon: “Analysis is the study we do in order to figure out what to do.” (http://www.nwlink.com/~donclark/hrd/sat2.html). Here we go again with needs assessment and ADDIE. Hey wait! Maybe I NEED the backwards planning approach of ADDIE! My goal has been identified and now I just need the actions that will likely help me effectively and efficiently arrive at the goal. The major steps of backwards planning in ADDIE are:

   Result – What impact will improve our business?

   Performance – What do the employees have to perform in order to create the desired impact?

   Learning – What knowledge, skills, and resources do they need in order to perform?

   Motivation – What do they need to perceive in order to learn and perform?

For my project the result is end users knowing how to use the SmartBoard, performance is end users following written prompts to achieve desired results, learning requires reading, understanding and/or following instructions, and using a computer and the Smartboard tools, and motivation is they need to use and troubleshoot the SmartBoard without calling tech support every time they want to use it.

I suppose analysis and design for me connect very closely. If analysis is the gap between what we have now and what we actually need, (I think I’m starting to understand analysis correctly), then the design is the blueprints for the thing that fills the gap.

The Information R/Evolution video was pretty cool, but, I can’t answer how the things in the video affect analysis or design. I’ve thought hard about this one and I’m not able to tie it together. I don’t feel confident or productive about these assignments. It’s these kinds of frustrations that cause me to think I’ve made a poor choice in my graduate degree. No one has yet been able to tell me what I’m going to be able to do for a career after I graduate either. I don’t feel I am where I belong. I don’t normally add personal thoughts and feelings to my blog assignments, but isn’t that what a blog is for? I don’t believe people read the blogs of others anyway. It’s just a very public online version of a private journal where you chat with yourself. But in this case, it is a way for my instructor to check if I’m understanding the elements of this project.

 

Leave a Reply

